Unless

One of my favorite things to do with Gavin is reading. I am determined to expose him to many different stories and help him develop a love of reading that hopefully lasts his lifetime. (So far so good.)

On a recent trip to Goodwill, I found a copy of Dr. Seuss’s The Lorax. I knew the story was environmental in nature, but I honestly hadn’t read it in a long time. I quickly snatched it up and brought it home to Gavin. It has become one of his new favorite books. If you have never read  it or haven’t read it lately, I urge you to do so.

Here’s a little about the book: it was published in 1971 and follows the story of how a beautiful land is transformed and polluted by  the Once-ler and his corporate greed. The Lorax tries to stand up to the Once-ler by speaking for the trees and the animals that live in the land. Unfortunately, his efforts are for not and the Once-ler destroys the land.

It’s amazing to me how relevant this book is to what is happening under the current administration. And I can’t help but think of how the Once-ler so perfectly reflects the attitude and actions of President Trump. I mean, he even says the word biggering. (Bigly anyone?)

I love that reading it with Gavin gives me the opportunity to talk to him about environmental issues (on his level of course). It’s a great way to get him involved and hopefully help him understand the importance of taking action to protect our planet. During a recent reading, I was pointing out how the pollution created by the Once-ler’s factory turned a lake brown and dirty. Gavin innocently looked up at me and said “Mommy, all we need is some soap.” I only wish cleaning up the planet was that easy. But I couldn’t help but the love the fact that he was already thinking of a clean up solution. I can only hope that these early conversations help him continue to think of possible solutions. After all, as the book says “Unless someone like you cares a whole awful lot, it’s never going to get better. It’s not.”

Leave a Reply

