The Year with No New Clothes

Clothing. Believe it or not, the clothing industry is the second largest polluter in the world. It’s second only to the oil industry. Most clothing we buy today is not only not produced in a sustainable way, it is made to be trendy and cheap (Read: this means it is only going to last the wearer the length of the trend before it falls apart or becomes just another piece of clothing you never wear.) And where do these back of the closet items end up? Either at a place like Goodwill or in the trash.

When I got pregnant and started preparing for our son’s arrival, I stumbled into the world of consignment shopping. These massive sales that typically happen twice a year are where 95% of my son’s wardrobe come from. I love the thrill of the hunt and getting great bargains on clothing Gavin will soon grow out of (or destroy). Consignment sales are wonderful for not only scoring great deals on gently used clothing, but also for books, toys, and all childhood necessities.

Note to consignment sale newbies:

Make no mistake, consignment sale shoppers are serious. (They can even make seasoned Black Friday shoppers shake.) My first sale, I didn’t know to bring my own shopping bag (or laundry basket) or that there were designated areas for certain items. I was immediately overwhelmed. But after getting a whole infant wardrobe for under $50, I was hooked.

Unfortunately, these large scale sales only exist for children’s items. Luckily, consignment stores for adults have been popping up all over our city. Most even sell high end, designer clothing. When shopping for myself, these stores are now my go to.

So as 2016 came to a close, I made one crazy resolution: No new clothing for a year. I vowed to keep my overall shopping to a minimum and when I do need to buy clothing, I will only be buying second hand.

Here is a picture of my recent haul at a spring consignment sale for Gavin. I got all of this plus four books not pictured for $42! The backpack and lunch box WITH his name already on them where a ton bonus (and only $8), but a great example of the amazing things you can find at these sales. The Clemson hat is in brand new condition and was only $1.25. The hat may or may not be for me.

gavincosignment

Leave a Reply

