Our Beginning

Now this is the story all about how my life got flipped, turned upside down…………..(Any 90’s fan out there?)

But seriously, this is the story of the day that changed my life. Now in fairness, I have had a few days that have been life changing for me……the day I met my husband, the day my father passed away, the day I got married, and most recently, the day my son was born.

This day that changed my life propelled me into my current role of shy activist in training. Can you guess the day? If you guessed January 20th, 2017, you would be right!

I will spare you a long political post, but suffice it to say, the day of Trump’s inauguration, I fought my inner chicken little (remember- the sky is falling, the sky is falling.) I was scared. Scared for my friends, scared for my family, and scared for my son’s future.

Waking up in day 1 under the new administration, I knew I could no longer sit by and continue to do my personal version of the status quo.

So I decided to focus on what I find the most important. For me, that is the environment. I want to do everything in my power to ensure a clean and safe planet for my son. I decided to start in the place where I have the most control-our home.

Sure we already recycle, use reusable water bottles and bags, and turn the lights off when we leave a room. We even adopted the old hippie water conservation mantra of “If it’s yellow, let it mellow. If it’s brown, flush it down.” But I knew we could do more.

So here we are…….at the beginning. The beginning of doing more and using less.

Thank you for joining us on our journey. We hope to share tips, tricks, and inspiration for you and your family along the way.

Welcome to Sustainable Suburbanites.

Leave a Reply

